Blog Hopping

This is totally unrelated to food, but I just got off the phone with my sister and we were laughing at all the “blog hopping” (as she called it) that is so prevalent now. In conversation she had asked me about some books I read, which come to find out she knew about from reading the comment section of Julie’s blog (I don’t think my sister has ever met Julie) then asked me about a movie reviewed on my friend Kathyn’s blog (they have met, but still…somewhat random). Then, the kicker was my friend Anne who just told me this hilarious story about her friend who bumped into this couple and could not figure out for the life of her how she didn’t know them or their names, but yet knew all of this random info ABOUT them, like the fact that their dog just died…only to later realize that she’s never met them, she just reads their blog!! (friends of friends, I suppose) I just think it is really funny how viral blog links can be, and before you know it you are looking through before and afters of some random person’s house renovation, or baby pictures from someone you recognize from college but haven’t seen in five years. Oh, the internet…it’s a crazy thing!

Thinking about ‘blog hopping’ and whether or not that was an official term these days that I just wasn’t aware of, I went to the source of all slang…Urban Dictionary. There were actually a freakish amount of blog terms listed there but I guess people not only sit around stalking blogs, but also creating blogger terminology and adding to Urban Dictionary. Anyway, here are some that I thought were funny…

blogaholic: someone whose life subsists for their online blog and their “fan club, ” namely other blogaholics

blog envy: the jealousy you feel when you realize that your friend’s blog is more popular than yours.

blog fodder: an interesting idea, story, or link. Referred to as blog fodder when your first reaction is to use it in your blog.

blog vomit: The process of writing about someone or something in your blog that contains discreet information that you will regret writing later.

blogslap: to virtually insult someone through a blog.

There are tons more, but I’ll leave you with those for now. Happy blogging!

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “Blog Hopping

  1. Julie Wheatley

    i just laughed out loud. i think for now. i am mainly “blog fodder”. The other night at the soccer game. Every comment anyone made, someone was like “now that’s a blog”. Oh if only I could get into twitter. It just seems faster. Everything is a tweet.

  2. Julie is officially a blogaholic and i love it.

    Love this post too Kelly…so true

Leave a comment